Napoli were unable to win their final game of the year as Monza claimed a point at the Stadio Maradona.

It proved to be a feisty encounter with plenty of cards flashed about but no ultimately goals, thanks in no small part to the goalkeepers. Michele Di Gregorio pulled off a fine save to deny Frank Anguissa at the end of the first half then Alex Meret thwarted Matteo Pessina from the penalty spot midway through the second period. Pessina again came up trumps to keep out what would have been a late winner by Gianluca Gaetano at the end.

There was to be no perfect ending to what has otherwise been a perfect 2023, which the Azzurri finish with the Scudetto on their chests and forever more in the football annals. Onwards to 2024, which begins with a trip to Torino next Sunday!

Napoli 0-0 Monza

NAPOLI: Meret (Contini 74); Di Lorenzo, Rrahmani, Juan Jesus, Mario Rui, Anguissa, Lobotka (Simeone 85), Zielinski (Gaetano 71), Zerbin (Lindstrom 71), Kvaratskhelia, Raspadori.
Coach: Mazzarri.

MONZA: Di Gregorio; Pedro Pereira (Birindelli 46), Caldirola, D’Ambrosio (Cittadini 76), Ciurria, Akpa Akpro (Bondo 63), Gagliardini, Valentin Carboni (Colpani 57), Pessina, Dany Mota Carvalho, Colombo (Machin 76).
Coach: Palladino.

Referee: Di Bello (Brindisi).
Booked: Pereira, Birindelli, Di Lorenzo, Cittadini, Gaetano, Kvaratskhelia, Bondo.
Sent off: Mazzarri 82, Palladino 90+3.

Share the article with your friends and support the team

Share the article with your friends and support the team

URL Copied to clipboard!